11.1 C
Friday, June 21, 2024

Most Sixes In IPL History

Must Read

Chris Gayle currently holds the IPL record for most sixes. No other batsman is likely to ever be able to match his destructive batting or even come close to matching his amazing record of 357 sixes.

With 251 sixes, AB de Villiers is a long way behind in second place.

The third-place player with 247 sixes is Rohit Sharma, who is currently the captain of the Mumbai Indians and still has a few successful seasons left in his career.

Also, check the IPL Point Table if you are an IPL Lover and you don’t know which team is in the top position. 

All About Most Sixes In IPL History

PositionPlayerSixesMatchesTotal RunsHighest Score
1Chris Gayle3571424965175*
2AB de Villiers2511845162133*
3Rohit Sharma2472315986109*
4MS Dhoni235239503784*
5Virat Kohli2282286844113
6Kieron Pollard223189341287*
7David Warner2161676109126
8Suresh Raina2032055528100*
9Shane Watson1901453874117*
10Robin Uthappa182205495288
11Andre Russell178103209588*
12Sanju Samson1691433683119
13Ambati Rayudu1681934264100*
14KL Rahul1661144044132*
15Yusuf Pathan1581743204100
16Yuvraj Singh149132275083
17Glenn Maxwell146115249595
18Shikhar Dhawan1442106477106*
19Jos Buttler143873035124
20Dinesh Karthik135234441497*
21Brendon McCullum1301092880158*
22Rishabh Pant129982838128*
23F du Plessis127121366296
24Nitish Rana12196233187
25Dwayne Smith11791238587*

Most Sixes By A Team

1Mumbai Indians1442
2Royal Challengers Bangalore1433
3Chennai Super Kings1322
4Punjab Kings1309
5Kolkata Knight Riders1278
6Delhi Capitals1161
7Rajasthan Royals1058
8Sunrisers Hyderabad798
9Deccan Chargers400
10Pune Warriors India196
11Lucknow Super Giants161
12Rising Pune Supergiant157
13Gujarat Lions155
14Gujarat Titans107
15Kochi Tuskers Kerala 53

About The Top 4 Players That Hit The Most Sixes

Chris Gayle

The legendary West Indian player Chris Gayle has hit 357 sixes in 140 games. He is a natural lefty who enjoys hitting balls over the fence. Gayle’s powerful hitting has all but made every bowler afraid. T”Universe Boss” struck a six that measured 119 meters, the longest six of his IPL career. 

According to Ross Taylor, that six is also tied for the fifth-longest six in IPL history. Gayle has played in 142 IPL games and scored 4965 runs. In addition, he now owns the IPL record for the most hundreds (six).

AB DE Villers

Abraham Benjamin DE Villers has hit the second most sixes in the history of the IPL (251). South African batsman MR 360 is known for his ability to knock the ball all over the field. AB is avoided by bowlers all over the world like a devil. 

He can hit any bowler for long sixes. AB has scored 5162 runs at a 151.68 strike rate in 184 games. Every franchise in the world wants to sign him. During the 2018 IPL, he hit the longest six of 111 meters.

Rohit Sharma

The third-most sixes in the IPL have been hit by Rohit Sharma, the opener for the Indian and Mumbai Indians, who has 247 to his credit. Rohit is one of the best openers to have ever played white-ball cricket. In 232 IPL games thus far, Rohit has scored 6014 runs at a strike rate of 130.03. 

White-ball cricket allows right-handed batters to play lengthy innings. In the IPL, Rohit Sharma has scored 50 runs or more 41 times. The Ace not only has strength but can also hit sixes with exact timing.

MS Dhoni

In the IPL, MS Dhoni has hit the fourth-most sixes (235). MS, who has completed numerous games for his team, is recognized as the best finisher in the entire world. Ian Bishop, a legend in the West Indies, once said, “If 15 runs are needed in the last over, then the pressure is on the bowler, not on MS Dhoni.” 

So, it is possible to imagine the impact MS Dhoni has had on world cricket. MS has frequently won games with a six, as in 2016. When the Rising Pune Supergiants needed 23 runs in the final over, MS hit Patel for 22 runs to send his team home. In 239 IPL games, Dhoni has scored 5037 runs with a strike rate of 135.76. 

Also check our official Website for more Knowledge about IPL – Click Here

Final Thoughts

In conclusion, Chris Gayle holds the record for the most sixes in IPL history with a staggering 357 sixes. AB de Villiers is second on the list with 251 sixes, followed by Rohit Sharma with 247 sixes, and MS Dhoni with 235 sixes. 

Gayle’s power-hitting and ability to score big runs in the IPL have made him a legendary figure in the league. Mumbai Indians hold the record for hitting the most sixes as a team with 1442 sixes. 

Each of the top four players on the list, including Gayle, de Villiers, Sharma, and Dhoni, are recognized as some of the greatest T20 players of all time.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest News

Secure your website with Comodo’s trusted SSL certificates

When it comes to securing your website, SSL certificates play a crucial role in ensuring data protection and building...

More Articles Like This